Sunday, 24 October 2010

Whips in the House of Lords

All Whips in the House of Lords are members of Her Majesty’s Household. Unlike whips in most legislatures, they speak regularly in the Chamber, often being the main – or secondary – spokesperson for one or more Government departments in the Lords. The “Captain of the Honourable Corps of the Gentlemen at Arms” is the Lords Chief Whip. The Deputy Chief has the title “Captain of The Queen’s Bodyguard of the Yeomen of the Guard

Chief Whip: Baroness Anelay of St Johns (Con)
Deputy Chief Whip: Lord Shutt of Greetland (LD)

Baronesses in Waiting
Baroness Northover (LD) : Baroness Rawlings (Con) : Baroness Verma (Con)

Lords in Waiting
Earl Attlee (Con) : Lord Astor of Hever (Con) Lord De Mauley (Con) :
Lord Taylor of Holbeach (Con) : Lord Wallace of Saltaire (LD)