Tuesday, 13 October 2009

Bletchley Park EDM

An Early Day Motion is circulating at Westminster to provide operational funding for this excellent & historic museum.

The EDM (No. 1935) has currently been signed by the following.

Bottomley, Peter
Breed, Colin

Cousins, Jim
Davey, Edward
Dismore, Andrew
Dodds, Nigel
Drew, David
Evans, Nigel
George, Andrew
Hopkins, Kelvin
Hoyle, Lindsay
Hughes, Simon
Iddon, Brian
Illsley, Eric
Jenkins, Brian
Jones, Lynn

Lancaster, Mark
McCafferty, Chris
McDonnell, John
Robinson, Iris
Russell, Bob
Stringer, Graham

Webb, Steve
Williams, Betty
Williams, Stephen

Willis, Phil
Winterton, Ann
(A further 14 MPs have signed the EDM but due to a computer problem, which should be resolved in the next 24 hours, these names are not yet on the EDM database at http://edmi.parliament.uk/EDMi/EDMDetails.aspx?EDMID=39161&SESSION=899)

and says -

"That this House recognises the signficance of Bletchley Park, historic site of secret British code-breaking activities during the Second World War and birthplace of the modern computer; acknowledges that the use of the intelligence gained at Bletchley Park and subsequent related actions of the Allies is said to have shortened the Second World War by two years, saving countless lives; and calls on the Government to provide operational funding whilst the museum is developed for long-term sustainability, securing the site for future generations to visit, appreciate and understand."

If your MP hasn't signed (you can find your MP by postcode at http://findyourmp.parliament.uk/) - please email (list of MPs & their emails) or "tweet" them (lists of MPs on twitter) - and ask them to sign EDM 1935.

(NOTE: Ministers; The Speaker & his Deputies; & PPSs cannot sign EDMs - and opposition frontbench spokepersons will only normally sign only on exceptional occasions - please respect their refusal if this is the reason!)