Wednesday, 15 June 2011

Lord Speaker

Baroness Hayman's five year term as Lord Speaker is about to come to an end. She announced in May that she would not seek re-election. The timetable for the election of her successor is -

23 June Candidatures to be registered (by 5pm).

27 June List of candidates published.

29 June Ballot papers sent to those requesting a postal vote.
13 July Voting from 10am to 8pm. Postal votes must be returned by 5pm.

18 July Result of the election reported to the House at the start of business.

1 September The new Lord Speaker takes office.

5 September The new Lord Speaker will sit on the Woolsack for the first time at the start of business.

No comments: